KCTCS wins NAWBO’s Corporate Partner of the Year

Published on Mar 21, 2024

NAWBO Winners

KCTCS staff, from left to right: JCTC President Ty Handy, Melissa Eaton, Dr. Reneau Waggoner, KCTCS President Ryan Quarles, Bekka Korosec, Calynn Fields, Hannah Rivera and Shannon Rickett.

The Kentucky Chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) selected the Kentucky Community and Technical College System as its 2024 Corporate Partner of the Year.

The award recognizes recipients that support the chapter with financial resources and staff participation that is beneficial to women business owners. 

“We are very pleased to support the many entrepreneurial women across Kentucky who are making a positive difference in our workforce,” said KCTCS President Ryan Quarles. “As we commemorate Women’s History Month, it’s a great time to show our appreciation to this organization for all they do to promote economic development on behalf of their members.”

KCTCS staff members have provided public procurement opportunities to NAWBO members, served on planning committees, assisted with award judging, and provided advice to leadership.

In June, KCTCS will host the chapter’s annual business meeting at the system office and will also staff a panel to educate members on how to do business with KCTCS and similar government entities. 

The award was presented Tuesday, March 12 at the Olmstead in Louisville during the annual EPIC Awards luncheon.

NAWBO was founded in 1975 and is the unified voice of over 11 million women-owned businesses in America, representing the fastest-growing segment of the economy. NAWBO Kentucky was formed over 31 years ago.