Sign into blackboard User Account Center Search Start your path to a high wage high demand career!
Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Student Self-Service Center Check your email

Accelerating Opportunity Kentucky

Qualified adults can earn college credit while working towards their GED® diploma through AOKY.  AOKY participants receive GED instruction based on the program they are enrolled in at the college. For example, students enrolled in a welding program will receive GED math and language instruction related to welding. This will not only help students prepare for the GED test, but it will also help them in their college course work. The credential students will earn while in AOKY should lead to a job with a family-sustaining wage and will apply towards a Diploma and/or an Associate's Degree.  AOKY participants will also receive additional help in and outside the classroom from SkillsU, college and Kentucky Career Center staff to help them succeed in school and look for a job. 

AOKY Programs

Check out our full list of AOKY programs, but remember, not all of the programs may be available:
  • Administrative Office Technology
  • Air Conditioning Technology
  • Auto Body/Collision Repair
  • Automotive Technology
  • Computer Aided Drafting & Design
  • Computer Information Technology
  • Computerized Manufacturing & Machining
  • Criminal Justice
  • Construction Technology
  • Diesel Technology
  • Electrical Technology
  • Engineering & Electronics Technology
  • Health Science Technology
  • Human Services
  • Industrial Maintenance
  • Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education
  • Medical Assisting
  • Medical Information Technology
  • Medical Laboratory
  • Office Systems Technology
  • Nursing
  • Welding Technology



Am I a Good Fit for AOKY?

AOKY is open to eligible GED seeking students. In order to determine if this applies to you, you will need to take the TABE Test (Test for Adult Basic Education) and the Wonderlic test (to be eligible for federal financial aid).

If you would like to find out if you qualify for AOKY, talk to your SkillsU instructor or contact the AOKY point of contact at the College you are interested in attending and they will help you.


What does it Cost?

Tuition for Accelerating Opportunity Kentucky is the same as any other college course: $169 per credit hour plus the $8 mandatory student fee. You will most likely also have to pay for books and depending on the program you are interested in enrolling in, there may be additional costs or fees.  Students who pass the Wonderlic test may qualify for federal financial aid.  

 

How do I Get Started?

You're making a great choice! To get started, you'll want to contact:

Ready to start on your path to higher education? Reach out to one of our AOKY program coordinators!

College Coordinator Phone Email
Ashland CTC Chrisha Spears (606) 326-2425 chrisha.spears@kctcs.edu
Big Sandy CTC Sally Porter (606) 886-3863 x81276 sporter0044@kctc.edu
Bluegrass CTC Pat Tatro (859) 246-6614 ptatro0001@kctcs.edu
Elizabethtown CTC Benjamin Whitlock (270) 706-8711 bwhitlock0007@kctcs.edu
Gateway CTC Sam Collier (859) 442-1146 sam.collier@kctcs.edu
Hazard CTC Lucy Langdon 606-487-3284 llangdon0002@kctcs.edu
Henderson CC Amanda Denton (270) 831-9649 amanda.denton@kctcs.edu
Hopkinsville CC Debbie Birdsong (270) 707-3821 debra.birdsong@kctcs.edu
Jefferson CTC Gina Embry (502) 213-5163 gembry0006@kctcs.edu
Madisonville CC Angela Carter (270) 824-1818 angela.carter@kctcs.edu
Maysville CTC Angie Potter (606) 759-7141 x66112 angiek.potter@kctcs.edu
Owensboro CTC Lindsey Kafer (270) 686-3781 lindsey.kafer@kctcs.edu
Somerset CC April Russell (606) 679-8501 april.russell@kctcs.edu
Southcentral KY CTC Kelcie Richart (270) 901-1035 Kelcie.richart@kctcs.edu
Southeast KY CTC Tessa Roark (606) 589-3047 x13047 troark0024@kctcs.edu
West KY CTC Laurie Swick (270) 534-3312 lswick0001@kctcs.edu