Sign into blackboard User Account Center Search Start your path to a high wage high demand career!
Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Student Self-Service Center Check your email

Accelerating Opportunity Kentucky

Accelerating Opportunity Kentucky (AOKY) allows participants an accelerated pathway to employment -and to a GED diploma and a KCTCS entry level certificate that meet the needs of the participant and the state and regional economy. This student first approach gives participants the skills they need to succeed in school and compete in the workforce by working on technical and foundational education at the same time while also providing support services to participants through a success coach and a career coach.The success coach helps participants fill in college paperwork, provides general support, and develops plans for them to meet their goals, tracks academic progress and makes referrals as needed. The career coach conducts a skills assessment, assists with resume writing, job search activities, training services, career counseling, and provides job referrals.

 

The goals of Accelerating Opportunity Kentucky are to:

  • Allow students who need to earn their GED to do so while they are also enrolled in college courses
  • Allow students to earn one or more certifications that helps them get a better job now with a family sustaining wage
  • Allow students to earn college credit that leads to a degree in the future

Who can participate?

Accelerating Opportunity Kentucky is open to eligible GED seeking students. In order to determine if this applies to you, you will need to take the Wonderlic test.

If you would like to find out if you qualify for Accelerating Opportunity Kentucky, contact the Accelerating Opportunity point of contact at the College you are interested in attending and they will help you. 

 

How much does it cost?

Tuition for Accelerating Opportunity Kentucky is the same as any other college course: $156 per credit hour plus the $8 mandatory student fee. 

You will most likely also have to pay for books and depending on the program you are interested in enrolling in, there may be additional costs orfees. Please contact the college contact to learn more about the cost for the program you are interested in.

 

Can I receive help with tuition?

Financial aid or other financial assistance may be available for those who qualify. The college contact can help you figure out the program costs and if you qualify for financial aid. If you don't qualify for financial aid, the Coordinator can help you identify other ways you may get help with tuition.

 

Ready to start on your path to higher education? Reach out to one of our AOKY program coordinators!

College Coordinator Phone Email
Ashland CTC Chrisha Spears (606) 326-2425 chrisha.spears@kctcs.edu
Big Sandy CTC Sally Porter (606) 886-3863 x81276 sporter0044@kctc.edu
Bluegrass CTC Pat Tatro (859) 246-6614 ptatro0001@kctcs.edu
Elizabethtown CTC Benjamin Whitlock (270) 706-8711 bwhitlock0007@kctcs.edu
Gateway CTC Sam Collier (859) 442-1146 sam.collier@kctcs.edu
Hazard CTC Lucy Langdon 606-487-3284 llangdon0002@kctcs.edu
Henderson CC Pam Wilson (270)831-9649 pamala.wilson@kctcs.edu
Hopkinsville CC Debbie Birdsong (270) 707-3821 debra.birdsong@kctcs.edu
Jefferson CTC Gina Embry (502) 213-5163 gembry0006@kctcs.edu
Madisonville CC Angela Carter (270) 824-1818 angela.carter@kctcs.edu
Maysville CTC Angie Potter (606) 759-7141 x66112 angiek.potter@kctcs.edu
Owensboro CTC Lindsey Kafer (270) 686-3781 lindsey.kafer@kctcs.edu
Somerset CC April Russell (606) 679-8501 april.russell@kctcs.edu
Southcentral KY CTC Kelcie Richart (270) 901-1035 Kelcie.richart@kctcs.edu
Southeast KY CTC Tessa Roark (606) 589-3047 x13047 troark0024@kctcs.edu
West KY CTC Laurie Swick (270) 534-3312 lswick0001@kctcs.edu